The President was elected directly in the 1990’s until the Constitution was modified in 2000 so that Parliament elects the President with 61 votes (three fifths). During the summer of the same year the first three attempts to elect the head of state failed in December 2000, causing early parliamentary elections. PCRM Chairman Vladimir Voronin was elected head of state on April 4, 2001 by 71 Communist legislators. Four years later, on April 4, 2005, Vladimir Voronin was re-elected chief of state with 75 votes of the Communist, Christian Democrat, Democratic and Social Liberal legislators. According to the Constitution (Article 80), the President of the Republic of Moldova cannot run more than two consecutive mandates.

Legislators representing the opposition parties (PL, PLDM and AMN) did not participate in election of chief of state, the Parliament failed to elect a President on May 20, 2009 and the June 3, 2009 elections failed as well. In consequence, incumbent President Vladimir Voronin dissolved the legislature and early parliamentary elections were organised.

On 4 March, 2016 a controversial Constitutional Court decision reintroduces direct presidential elections. On April 1, Parliament set the date of presidential elections for October 30, 2016.

Some data on previous elections can be found here: ADEPT.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s